1997 McGrath replica RM250

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1997 McGrath replica RM250

This is my first build post here on Moto Builds. I've been racing this 97 Rm250 for the last five of years in the New England retro/vintage classes. One of my favorites is the STIMILON MX challenge put on by Dave Olcott. My trusty RM has brought the title home each year. I have decided to retire the 97 (I have an 02 I'm riding now) and put the finishing touches on the restoration. Bryan Schultz has done a ton of leg work to get the original graphics reprinted w/ the original seat cover from Throttle Jockey, making it a lot easier to get the period correct look. The one item that is impossible to find is the fork brace Suzuki used to stiffen the conventional forks. We all know Jeremy eventually convinced them to switch to inverted forks. That would be an easy solution, switch to inverted. But I have a Suzuki autograph poster from 1997 of Jeremy airing out the old RM and I want my replica to look just like the photo. Long story short, I searched the web to find pictures of the original brace to reverse engineer it. I was close with a design, but it wasn't exact and I was struggling on the final details. It wasn't until until Bryan saw a IG post from Pingree that I had everything I needed, thanks Ping. A fork brace was then 3D printed for a test fit, a couple small changes and then 5 sets of braces were ordered. If anyone is interested in a set I am putting together another run of braces now. Having raced the bike over the past few years it has seen some wear and tear. I upgraded the brakes and suspension to get a more modern feel. The front brakes have an over sized braking rotor and Brembo's from a 250sxf. Jeremy would have been stoked on this set up back in the day. The rear brakes are from a 2007 rmz250 with over sized braking rotor. The suspension was re valved by Gregg Lynk my local Suzuki guru (former mechanic for Buddy Antenez) with RG3 valving. The rear sh